The Orchard Hill Observatory is UMass Amherst's optical observatory. It is located on the highest point on the UMass campus and is home to a 16-inch Cassegrain telescope. The observatory is used for public events and for holding open observatory nights for both students and Pioneer Valley residents. The observatory is primarily run by the officers of the Five College Astronomy Club on a volunteer basis and is free to the public.

Contact information / Current Officers

Miranda Eiben, Vice-President and Observatory Co-Director - meiben @ Senior Mechanical Engineering and Astronomy double major.

Can be texted (preferred) or called at '978-875-1813'

Davis Hodges-Hall, Observatory Co-Director - dhodgeshall @ Senior Astronomy major.

Kendall Sullivan, President and Assistant Director - Senior Astronomy major.

Trevor Nelson, Treasurer - Junior Physics major.

Savio Olivera, Secretary - Sophomore Astronomy major.

Join our mailing list

UMass students can join our mailing list by joining the astronomy club here: click here. Non-students can send us an email and ask to be put on the list.

You can get also get updates via our Facebook group: click here.

Former Directors / Presidents (Thank you!)

Contact us if we made an error, or if you know details or people who should be added!

Ross Dubois, Director (2006-2008). Currently doing education outreach in Arizona.

David Sliski, Director and President (2008-2010). Currently at UPenn for Physics and Astronomy.

Sebastian Fischetti, Assistant Director. Currently at Imperial College of London for Physics.

Rob Pierce, Assistant Director. Currently working in Finance.

Joe Loyns, Co-Director (2010-2012). Currently pursuing a masters in Medical Engineering.

Tom MacRae, Co-Director (2010-2012). Receieved a masters in Mechanical Engineering from WPI.

Emily Horn, Director (2013-2014).

Patrick Drew, Director (2014-2016). Started at UT Austin fall 2016 for Astronomy.

Teddy Kareta, Co-Director (2016-2017).

Alissa Roegge, Co-Director (2016-2017). Currently pursuing a PhD in Astronomy and Planetary Science at Northern Arizona University.

Special thanks

The Orchard Hill Observatory is greatful for all the help and support from countless members of the Five College Astronomy Club, especially David Sliski, Emily Horn, Ben Rizkin, Marie Calapa, Thierry Drew, Crissy Cavallaro and Nikita Gubanov.